THE PHOTOGRAPHIC SOCIETY OF PENANG

(Founded in 1967)
Certification of Registration No. 298, Pulau Pinang.
REGISTRATION NO. PPM-003-07-20101967





Minutes of the 43rd Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the 43nd Annual General Meeting of the Photographic Society of Penang held on 08 January 2017 at the Youth Park Info Center, Penang, at 10.00 a.m.

Present: Yeap Khee Yong, Ho Cheng Woh, Ong Pang Wei, Lee Lat Heng, Lim Boon Siang, Soon Chin Boon, Ong Tat Seng (Francis), Tan Tong Toon (Terry), Han Luan Siew, Chua Boon Keat, Can Yew Fook, Chan Jian Quan, Chuang Kwong Sheaun, Lee Kian Khoon, Leong Ho Jin, Sam Fel Lin, Lim Hock Seng, Wee Yun Feng, Khor Sek Min, Chua Chee Eam, Ang Chai Oung (Ivan), Yeoh Peng Hong, Cheah Sin Hock, Eskay Yuan Siew Kong, Derrick Ong Wen Han, Kelvin Chee Wah Kuam, Fong Peng Chuan, Lim Chee Keong, Tan Meng Teong, Sherwynd Rylan Kessler, Yasothye Muniandy, Choo Kwan Ling, Lim Soo Peng, Cheong Kum Loong, Tan Wooi Yen Mac, Tan Cheong Pheng, Dr. Donald Chuah, Lim Lean Eng Allen, Tang Keng Hong, Ooi Kok Beng, Ng Siang Hock, & Kheong Eng Ghee.

Observer: Neoh Soon Hueng,

The Meeting was called to order at 10.10 a.m. by the Hon Secretary Yeap Khee Yong

1. To Adopt The Minutes of the Previous Annual General Meeting held on 29 May 2016.

The Minutes of the last AGM held on 29 May 2016 at the Youth Park Info Center, Penang, at 11.30 am was read and adopted. Proposer: Lim Boon Seang

Seconder: Ong Tat Seng

2. Matters Arising from the Minutes of the last AGM.

Item 4 - To Adopt the Amendment made to the Rules & Regulations of the Society: Ho Cheng Woh enquired on the status of the approval of the Amendment sent in to ROS to which the Hon Secretary replied that it has not been approved. It was rejected on the grounds that as the Society bore the name of Penang and hence only Penang resident are eligible to hold post apart from many of the new regulations like the powers of the President, Vice Presidents, which need to be updated to current requirements as our Rules & Regulations basically was drawn up in the 60's.

To this, though Ong Pang Wei wanted the Secretary to go through each item in the meeting which would involve too much technicality and confirmation, it was debated and then decided unanimously that the incoming committee look into it and have it uploaded up the society's website for the general review of the members, after which it will be tabled again in the next AGM for approval.

3. To Receive and Adopt the Chairman's Report for 2016:

The President, Ooi Kok Chuan thanked the committee for their utmost support and co operation in the running of the society. The following were highlighted in his report

- the Celebration of our 50th Anniversary with Chuang Kwong Sheaun as new Organising Chairman
- the organising of 11th Penang International Photo Salon 2017 with Khor Sek Min as Salon Chairman
- the success of PSP members in international photo salons
- talks on photography especially that of our member Dr Kah Wai Lin, who is also a PSA Vice President
- photography outings organised for our members
- the achievement of PSP members in photography contests, local & international.
- SJT photography challenge for 2016

However it was pointed out that the 50th Anniversary Dinner is subsidised and not free. To this the report was adopted.

Proposer: Ho Cheng Woh Seconder: Ong Tat Seng

4. To Present and Adopt the Annual Statement of Accounts:

Goh Seong Por presented his accounts for the fiscal year ending 2016. All the items were meticulously explained as in the accounts hard copy report which was circulated. He also pointed out that 3 Life Members which had been approved in September had their payment made only in January 2017 and hence were not recorded in the accounts. Before it was adopted it was pointed out by Fong Peng Chuan that as there were no signatures on the circulated account copies, whether the accounts has been formally audited. To this the Hon Treasurer assured the members that the same copy has signature on it for submission to the ROS. To this, the accounts were adopted:

Proposer : Chee Wah Kuam Seconder: Han Luan Siew.

5. To Elect the 43rd Incoming Committee for 2017 & 2018:

Before the election, the committee was dissolved and Ho Cheng Woh was appointed to take the chair to see to the Election.

Proposer : Lee Lat Heng Seconder: Han Luan Siew

A total of 23 members submitted their nomination form to sit in the incoming committee. However it was found that apart from the post of Committee Member and that of House Chairman, the rest of the forms had no stipulated post indicated. To over come this the following proposals were made:

i. The house to vote in 16 from all the nominated candidates using balloting papers. The top 16 candidates with the highest votes will form the committee out of which the house will nominated from these 16, the various post as required to form the committee. The 2nd part of the voting will be with a show of hands.

Proposer: Tan Tong Toon Seconder: Lee Lat Heng

ii. The 2nd Proposal was to adopt the old system which had been in practice with open nomination and to vote in each nominated candidate for each post with a show of hands.

Proposer: Lim Chee Keong Seconder: Yeoh Peng Hong

The 2 proposals were put to a vote with the 1st proposal adopted.

Voting was carried out to select 16 to form the new committee from the following who were nominated:

Goh Seong Por, Ong Pang Wei, Han Luan Siew, Chua Boon Keat, Khor Sek Min, Chuang Kwong Sheaun, Ang Chai Oung, Yeoh Peng Hong, Ooi Kok Chuan, Ho Cheng Woh, Tan Tong Toon, Ong Tat Seng, Lim Boon Siang, Sam Fei Lin, Wee Yun Feng, Chuang Kwong Kan, Chee Wah Kuam, Eskay Yuan Siew Kong, Looi Toong Hong, Tan Meng Teong, Yeap Khee Yong, Alvin Ooi Kok Beng.

The following 16 who had the top highest votes were nominated and voted into the various posts as below to form the committee for 2017-2018

President : Chuang Kwong Sheaun

Vice President : Ooi Kok Chuan

: Ong Tat Seng

Hon Secretary : Yeap Khee Yong Hon Treasurer : Goh Seong Por House/Competition Chairman: Ho Cheng Woh Activity Chairman : Tan Tong Toon Committee Members

: Chee Wah Kuam : Chua Boon Keat

: Eskay Yuan Siew Kong

: Han Luan Siew : Khor Sek Min : Leong Ho Jin : Lim Boon Siang : Ong Pang Wei : Wee Yun Feng

Hon Auditor (appointed) : Lee Lat Heng

To Transact Any Further Matter and Business That May Arise:

None.

The Chair was passed back to the new incoming President, Chuang Kwong Sheaun who thanked the support and trust that has been given to him and as this is an important year when we will be celebrating our 50th Anniversary, he expressed his hope that all members would turn up with their utmost support to make the event a success.

Lastly the Hon. Auditor for the year 2017 & 2018 was nominated and appointed

Hon Auditor: Lee Lat Heng -Proposer: Ho Cheng Woh Seconder: Ong Tat Seng.

Being no other matters arising, the meeting was adjourned at 1.45 p.m. with a lunch at Restaurant 747 hosted by the President Chuang Kwong Sheaun and his Vice President Ong Tat Seng with a word thanks to MBPP for the use of the Meeting room for the AGM.

Hon. Secretary